Fox shocks need oil

This site earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Ifster

Loves Light Bars
Dec 26, 2023
White Rock, NM.
Hi,
I just got a buggy. The PO had mentioned that he ran the shocks at about 550 PSI. They were maxed out and had no compression. While trying to lower the pressure, I managed to dump all the pressure out of one of the shocks and lost a lot of oil.
I have no experience with these shocks. So the questions are:

1: Can I refill the shock with oil by removing it, and drain and fill the oil through the Schrader valve port?
2: I understand the shocks have to be unmounted in order to fill with nitrogen, is this the case?

Thanks.

You can refill without removing through the schrader valve port. However, the problem is how much oil did you lose and was the oil level right? 550 psi sounds high but you didn't supply enough info.

Shock diameter and stroke?
Brand of shock.
How much weight on each corner?
Maybe pics of buggy?

The trick to filling with oil and nitrogen while on the rig is to get the shock at full extension. But that's really a trail ride repair. Not something I would recommend for long term. Even then, without more info and knowledge you will struggle.

The proper way is to pull the shock and put it in a vise and slowly disassemble it. They really aren't that hard to pull apart. I would start with the shock that you didn't lose oil out of to determine how much oil was in it to start with.

We can walk you through it but it will take some time.

You can refill without removing through the schrader valve port. However, the problem is how much oil did you lose and was the oil level right? 550 psi sounds high but you didn't supply enough info.

Shock diameter and stroke?
Brand of shock.
How much weight on each corner?
Maybe pics of buggy?