Events/CompetitionsPress Release

FOX sweeps Trophy Truck podium at SCORE Baja 500

Photo of Bryce Menzies

Captivating thousands of fans who lined the race course of the 43rd SCORE Baja 500, FOX Racing Shox racers dominated the top three spots on the podium among the elite SCORE Unlimited Trophy Truck class.  SCORE Trophy Trucks are the top class in desert racing featuring 800 horsepower racing across the desert at incredible speeds.

Las Vegas racing phenom, Bryce Menzies, driving the Red Bull #70 truck, was the overall 4-wheel winner after 452.84 miles of racing.  Menzies finished in 9 hours, 4 minutes and 52 seconds, followed closely by one of desert racing’s most feared competitors, Rob MacCachren, driving the #20 Rockstar Energy Drink Trophy Truck.  Last year’s winner, Andy McMillin, driving the McMillin Realty-BFGoodrich Tires Truck took third.
All three racers are FOX athletes competing at the top of their game with the ability to win races at anytime.

Held in the barren Baja Peninsula desert, the 452.84-mile race course challenges man and machine against the toughest conditions in the desert.  Deep mud, big rocks, long stretches of dry lakebeds where race trucks reach speeds in excess of 125 miles per hour, all test race truck components and the driver’s ability to put it all together while racing towards victory.

Photo of Steven Eugenio254 entries in 28 different racing classes competed in this year’s 43rd SCORE Baja 500.  Racers start and finish on Ensenada’s ocean front street, which is closed down for the 2½ day racing festival.  Held each June, the event draws over 100,000 fans who line the nearly 500-mile race course throughout Baja’s toughest terrain.

Winning the ultra-competitive Class 1 Unlimited Buggy division were longtime FOX Racing Shox athletes, Adam Pfankuch and Steven Eugenio.  Facing off with a huge field of 27 Class 1 starters, the FOX athletes charged hard from the start and came from the 22 starting position near the back of the pack to earn the victory.

Photo of Dan McMillin

In the limited 1-2 1600 Buggy division, Luke McMillin and Justin “Bean” Smith teamed up to win by over an hour. For McMillin and Smith, this Baja 500 victory marks there first win in the highly competitive 1600 class at the famed SCORE Baja 500.  Luke McMillin is the youngest of the McMillin Racing family.  Racing in his first full season in 2010, Luke captured the SCORE Rookie of the Year honors, as well as the 1600 championship.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.