Brad Lovell Declared 2012 Ultra4 Pro Series Champion

September 26, 2012- Twin Peaks, CA: The 2012 Ultra4 Pro Series Championship began with the 2012 Griffin King of The Hammers and ended with the 2012 Ultra4 American Rocksports Championship last weekend in Tooele, Utah. More than 50 drivers from 20 states competed for a chance to be named the 2012 Ultra4 Pro Series Champion. Ultimately, Ultra4 veteran and short course champion, Brad Lovell, would claim the title.

The 2012 Ultra4 Pro Series Championship consisted of three races. Each race was meant to highlight the unique characteristics and strengths of Ultra4 cars. The three races for this year’s series were: 2012 Griffin King of The Hammers, which emphasized high speed desert racing, endurance and rock crawling, Best in the Desert’s Vegas to Reno; a 500+ mile race through the Nevada desert that tested both cars and drivers endurance, and The American Rocksports Challenge which combined short course racing and rock crawling with multiple cars competing simultaneously in a series of heat races.

Having both the car and the driving skills to finish well in three unique but equally grueling races was the key to Lovell’s success in earning the 2012 Ultra4 Pro Series Championship. Hot on Lovell’s heels for the championship was the 2012 Griffin King of The Hammers himself, Erik Miller who finished the series 122 points behind Lovell and 2010 King of The Hammers, Loren Healy finished only 56 points behind Miller. Below is a list of the top 10 drivers in the 2012 Ultra4 Pro Series Championship. For a complete listing of all drivers is available at

The Pro Series is not the only championship up for grabs for Ultra4 drivers in 2012. The Nitto Tire National Championship will be taking place in Blackwell Texas November 9th and 10th. Drivers from the Trail Gear Western Regional Championship will meet up with Ultra4 drivers from the 4WD Hardware Eastern Regional Championship at the PSC Brawl in Blackwell to determine who will claim the 2012 Ultra4 Nitto Tire National Championship. Currently, Nick Nelson sits atop the leader board for that race. Trophies for both the Pro Series and the Nitto Tire National Championship will be given out at in Blackwell, TX.

Top 10 Ultra4 Pro Series Drivers:

  Car Driver City State KOH V2R ARSC Pro
1 232 Brad Lovell Colorado Springs CO 842 847 830 2519
2 4421 Erik Miller Cumberland MD 1000 466 931 2397
3 4428 Loren Healy Farmington NM 849 657 835 2341
4 5 Shannon Campbell Gilbert AZ 927 120 1000 2047
5 4407 Cottin Rodd Cortez CO 614 706 560 1880
6 4435 Kevin Sacalas Riverside CA 100 873 683 1656
7 4420 Derek West Springfield MO 852 643 130 1625
8 18 Brian Shirley Dodge City KS 833   711 1544
9 4414 Jason Shipman Farmington MO 558 912   1470
10 81 Levi Shirley Dodge City KS 685   744 1429

About Ulra4 Racing: Ultra4 is a vehicle type, class and series. Ultra4 Racing was born from the popularity of the annual Griffin King of the Hammers, considered to be the toughest one-day off-road race. The vehicles are unlimited four-wheel drive, capable of competing in multiple racing disciplines – extreme rock crawling, high-speed desert racing and short course. In five years, the sport has grown significantly from the inaugural King of the Hammers to an eight race national series including a regional east and west championship and a three-race pro series. Ultra4 Racing is managed by Hammerking Productions located in Lake Arrowhead, CA. To learn more, log on

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.