Beautiful Rocky Point Poker Run and Desert Race by Arizona Desert Racing Association Results

Winners:  Class 1 – Loren Brown  ;  Class 10 – Josh Beyer ; Class 12 – Mark Fish  ; Class 8 – Joel Parra  ;  Ultra 4×4 – Jeremy Hammer  ;  ½ 1600 – Will Kellner  ; 5/1600 – Martin Rangel  ;  Unlimited UTV – Tony Larabell ; Sportsman Unlimited Buggy – Kevin Brown

rocky point adra 2GILBERT, AZ    MAY 8, 2013:  Thunder on the Beach Shootout Desert Race in Rocky Point Mexico was an excellent 140-mile course for spectators and racers alike.  “We really appreciate everyone that came over the border to enjoy one of my favorite areas in Mexico,” said Tim Jones, President of the Arizona Desert Racing Association.  “We had some excellent racing on a fun track, so we are calling it another successful weekend for ADRA.  I’m not saying there were a ton of racers, we would really like to see the car counts increase, but we also understand that it takes time to show everyone that we are here to provide an affordable loop style of desert racing in Arizona and of course Rocky Point.”

The Arizona Desert Racing Association weekend started out on Friday with a 20 mile poker run where racers got to pre-run the course in a fun atmosphere and locals got to participate in the action as well.  With 48 vehicles on the course, the winner of the Poker Run was Ryan McCoskey who took home $240 or 2820 Pesos!

The Friday night Drivers Meeting and Party was held at Playa Bonita Restaurant Terrace, with the ocean crashing as the backdrop.  It was a beautiful night to kick off a race weekend.

Saturday morning’s race was 100 miles, or 5 laps of the Rocky Point desert terrain.  First place in the 5-1600 Buggies was Martin Rangel and second was Terri Ross.  Sportsman Buggy Unlimited winner was Kevin Brown and second was Keith Hughes.  The winner of the UTV Class was Tony Larabell, second was Paul Cummins and third was Donnie Zipf.

Rocky Point ADRA 2013

Saturday afternoon’s race was 140 miles, or 6 laps of the course.  The pro class included Loren Brown winning Class 1 with Armando Bravo in second, Randy Blume in third and Bryon Seed in fourth.  Class 10 winner Josh Beyer was a close 5 minutes ahead of Dave Carlson in second.  Class 12 Mark Fisk was the only finisher.  In the ½-1600 Buggies class Will Kellner won with Brian McKee just 43 seconds behind him in second.  Bruce Johnston took third and Brent McKee took fourth. Class 8 Truck winner Joel Parra won by a full lap on Ryan McCoskey who took second and Javier Pacheco who took third.  Ultra 4×4 Jeremy Hammer was the only one to complete all 6 laps in his class with Mark Mason having early issues.  ADRA uses a Grand Prix finish to determine the winners in each class, otherwise known as the driver with the most laps completed within their class.

 “Just like all of our races, this was a fun, yet challenging race course for drivers.  We welcome all levels of drivers and have positioned our series for new racers to get their feet wet in the morning classes and the big boys to come out and make some dust in the afternoon class, all at a reasonable and affordable entry fees,” said Tim Jones.  You can learn more about this series at  The final race of 2013 will be Saturday October 19th outside Congress, AZ.

Become a Fan on Facebook for Race Updates:

About ADRA: Arizona Desert Racing Association (ADRA) mission is to provide a fun family friendly off-road racing series for off-road racing enthusiast throughout Arizona. Safety of our racers and responsibility to the desert and mountain terrain the environment and its wildlife are paramount to our success.  We feel it’s our duty to provide safe, fun, challenging courses for our members, now and into the future.
Schedule: March 2 – Parker, AZ ; April 27 – Rocky Point Mexico ; Oct 19 – Congress, AZ


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.