Press Release

Green Flag Waives on VORRA’s 35th Year of Racing Action

Jake Povey rolls his brand new truck in the first turn of Moto 1

RENO, NV MARCH 26, 2010: The green flag waved on Saturday for the opening day of the 35th year of action packed racing. The crowd was thick and the racing was intense for the ATVs on Saturday and the Car and Truck classes on Sunday. The 35th year of racing brought some changes to the format including a 3 moto, 5 lap race competition which gave the drivers even more time behind the wheel.

There were over 60 vehicles that competed for the purse monies. The legendary Sam Berri came out on top of Class 1 saying, “This was a great course to start the season off with. Challenging yet fun.” I doubt there was anyone that disagreed including Steve Sullivan who took second place after replacing three transmissions over the course of the weekends testing and racing. In the Group T class, Jake Povey took his freshly built truck for the Mint 400 and rolled it in the first turn of the first moto. It was a huge disappointment, but he continued to compete in all motos and finished 4th to Ben Phillips.

There were two new classes that got introduced to the VORRA start line. Sunday was the inaugural running of Ultra4 and also a Bug infestation with Class 11 setting up shop and planning their full on “invasion” for the April race. The Ultra4 class brought a new type of high paced racing to the technical short course. The big-tired 4wheel drive vehicles battled in each of the races and had spectacular finishes for every moto, but it was Brad Falin that took the overall win. Kevin Yoder, the 2009 Sportsman Class Champion, came in second place and said “Thanks VORRA for making a place for Rock Buggies to wreck their junk.”

On Saturday, it was a new wave of opportunities for the VORRA ATV racers. “I’m tired of the Quads getting the leftovers of the trucks and cars, and the leftovers of motocross events. This is a Quad race and its all for you,” said event director Wes Harbor during the preliminary drivers meeting. The track will now be set up specifically to the ATV Program, and there may even be additional races on separate weekends from the schedule listed below.

The weekend wrapped up with an awards ceremony that highlighted all of the winners and awarded them with trophies and purse winnings. The next race will be another short course race at Prairie City OHV area, April 17-18. More information can be found at

Final Results : March 21, 2010  Prairie City OHV Area, Folsom, CA


  • Sam Berri                        149
  • Steve Sullivan                        118
  • JJ Schnarr                        102
  • Mike Lehners                        121
  • Arden Dennington            944
  • Shannon Harwell            132

CLASS:  Ultra 4

  • Brad Falin                        457
  • Kevin Yoder                        434
  • Greg Hussey                        450
  • Jason Scherer                        476
  • Chris Ridgway                        422
  • John Goodby                        445

CLASS:  Group T

  • Ben Phillips                        T6043
  • Mike Koenig                        T603
  • Gerry Mannion                        838
  • Jake Povey                        T1402
  • Joel Swanson                        T635
  • Scott Rodgers                        T1411
  • Eric Steiger                        T9


  • KC Keller                        738
  • Josh Nie                        715
  • Patty Hayos                        769


  • Jay Schroeder                        903
  • Kathy Keller                        950

CLASS:  11

  • Gary Herrod                        1112
  • Richard Palasik                        1107

CLASS:  Sportsman

  • Anthony Domschott            23
  • Nathan McBride                        99
  • Michael McCleary            3
  • Scott Robinson                        T6043
  • Brendan Fowler                        13
  • Randy Scheck                        205
  • Stephanie Hayos            76
  • Erich Reinhardt                        33
  • Terry Shelton                        81
  • Bill Hermant                        91


  • Dennis Jean                        1959
  • Jon Crowley                        1965
  • Sean Cook                        1930
  • Ryan Drake                        1943

CLASS:  Pilots

  • Tim Compton                        8
  • Aaron Rupley                        77x
  • Miles Berghold                        16


  • Colton Scudder                        511
  • Blake Scudder                        207
  • JJ Parelli                        212
  • Ryder Haag                        91

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.