Events/CompetitionsPress Release

W.E. Rock Eastern US National Rocks to a Close

PLACERVILLE, CA   AUGUST 31, 2010: Mountain Extreme Park in Dayton, Tennessee hosted the 4th and final 2010 W.E. Rock Eastern US National Event, hosted by Tom’s 4×4 Super Store. Over 20 pro and local teams came to the two night event and battled in front of the record crowd. “There were 3,800 spectators over the 2 day event, making this the largest crowd in W.E. Rock history,” stated Rich Klein, race promoter.  “The Mountain Extreme Park is a perfect place to watch rock crawling, putting the spectators within 10 feet of the action and giving them the ability to see every course from one spot.”

After two days of competition, the final winners were not determined until the highly anticipated Bonus Land Shootout was completed on Saturday night with the crowd cheering on the competitors.  “It was awesome how many lead and position changes there were!  I would say at least a dozen!” exclaimed Klein.  The Bonus Land Shootout has 10 courses that are worth 5 points each with a time limit of 6 minutes to complete as many as possible.  The max possible points was 50 which could easily take someone from mid pack after normal competition to the winners circle.

In the Unlimited class, first time series event competitor Wes Kean trumped Carl Shortridge by six points.  Shortridge who finished with a excellent score of -35 points, would have taken the season sweep, but finished second when Kean pulled out one more line in the Bonus Land Shootout within the final seconds to take the win. Alex Vaughn took the third place spot.

In the Pro Mod Class, Kenny Blume took his second win of the season.  Blume rolled the Maxxis rig for the first time all season, but overcame the deficit and cleaned house in the Bonus Land Shootout. Ron Lind drove to a second place finish even after arriving late when he had trailer problems on the drive in.  Josh Crowe took third.  The Pro Mod season had three different event winners with Kenny Blume taking two, and Mike Cole and Danny Rohrer also at the top of the podium.

Kurt Shramovich stirred up the clean sweep for Jake Good in the Modified Stock class.  For the first time in the 2010 series a new Modified Stock winner was crowned, Shramovich took 1st place over Good of Rubber Belly Racing and Jon Terhune finished 3rd.

Marc Zaboth took 1st place for the second time this season beating F-toy rival David Wine with a colossal points difference.  Zaboth and Wine both have two wins each this season.

“It was a great season finale, leading into the Grand Nationals.  I think we really peaked the interest of some of the East Coast teams to make the drive to compete this year,” said Klein.  The 2010 W.E. Rock Grand Nationals will be held in Salt lake City, UT, on October 1st and 2nd, 2010 at the Miller Motorsports Park where over 50 national teams are expected to compete for the best in the Nation.

You Tube Link to Video:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.