Rob MacCachren Wins 2017 Polaris RZR Mint 400 presented by BFGoodrich Tires

This site earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Las Vegas native Rob MacCachren, who, in his 30-year career has won nearly every race and championship imaginable, finally sealed the deal earlier tonight on the one that’s eluded him, taking the win at the 2017 Polaris RZR Mint 400 presented by BFGoodrich Tires.

“It’s good to get this monkey off my back!” said an elated MacCachren, drenched in champagne on stage after crossing the finish line with an unofficial time of five hours, 37 minutes, 35 seconds after three laps of the 116-mile course outside Primm, Nevada.


The Mint’s reputation for being one of the toughest courses in off road racing played to MacCachren’s favor when race leader Andy McMillin flatted on the final lap, ending McMillin’s shot at a third Mint 400 win and handing the lead to the eventual winner.

In several past Mints, luck has not been on MacCachren’s side, knocking him out of contention with the win nearly within reach. A 2011 inductee to the Off Road Motorsports Hall of Fame, his accolades include Dirt Sports Magazine Driver of the Year (2007), BF Goodrich’s Motorsports Person of the Year (2007) as well as having been named SCORE Person of the Year twice (1987, 2008). This Mint win comes after three consecutive wins at the Baja 1000.


MacCachren takes home $10,000 from BFGoodrich Tires, $10,000 from Fox and a brand new Polaris RZR (adding to the one he already owns).

Always the gentleman racer, MacCachren paid tribute to Casey Folks, Best in the Desert founder, who passed away on Jan. 12, credited his crew for helping deliver the win, and thanked Mint 400 owners Matt and Josh Martelli and the hundreds of volunteers and crew who make the race happen each year.

Jason Voss, who won Thursday’s Method Race Wheels Time Trials, securing clean air as the first Trick Truck off the line shortly after12:30 p.m. today, was awarded second place on unofficial time, coming in with a five hours, 38 minutes, 39 seconds, taking the checkered flag a little over a minute after Rob Mac.

Andy McMillin recovered from the last lap flat to unofficially take third place with a time of five hours, 41 minutes, 36 seconds.

About The Mint 400
Known as “The Great American Off-Road Race™,” The Mint 400 is the oldest, most prestigious, and most challenging off-road race on the planet. This annual four-hundred mile marathon between the top off-road racers in the world includes over three hundred and fifty race teams in twenty-four different classes of off-road vehicles. Established in 1967, The Mint 400 is steeped in American lore. Thousands of racers and celebrities from around the world have attempted to tame the brutal Nevada desert, but less than half of them have ever finished the Mint. An entire week of events lead up to the famed off-road contest in and around Las Vegas, including a vehicle parade down the Las Vegas Strip, a drivers meet and greet, a pit crew challenge contest, the Miss Mint 400 beauty pageant, massive parties, a qualifying race, and a huge ten-block “contingency” gathering on Fremont Street East. Over forty-thousand spectators gather to watch the worlds best off-road race teams do battle at The Mint 400!

About Mad Media
Mad Media ( is a San Diego based marketing and creative agency, with in-house film and television production. We craft authentic, culturally engaging brand messages, and deliver them across print, web, photography, and film platforms. Mad Media has been leading the online content revolution since 1995 producing major commercial, television, online content and viral film projects such as The Gymkhana Series and XP1K Series.

The post Rob MacCachren Wins 2017 Polaris RZR Mint 400 presented by BFGoodrich Tires appeared first on

Continue reading...

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom