Ryan Poelman, Todd Jackson and Eduardo Laguna Take Home the Prestigious Oakley Bomb Award...

March 27th, 2015 – San Diego, CA – The first Oakley Bomb Award for desert off-road racing was handed out at the 2012 Mint 400. Since then, Oakley has kept the tradition alive, honoring the Mint 400 racers that clock the fastest lap at the The Great American Off-Road Race™.

This year, Oakley gave away their coveted Bomb Awards at The 2015 Polaris RZR Mint Mint 400
presented by General Tire to the driver and co-driver of three classes:

Fastest Lap in Class 1500
Fastest Lap in Class 6000, Trophylite
Fastest Lap in Class Pro UTV Class

Unnamed 310

Over fifty UTV’s strong rolled up to the start line of the 2015 Mint 400, making them the second largest class in the race. Numbers alone warranted an Oakley Bomb Award for fastest lap in one of the most competitive classes. Only nineteen Pro UTV’s finished the race and it was #1962 Ryan Poelman that threw down the fastest lap time of 02:21:13.712 on his second lap. Poelman earned a third place finish in the class behind Scott Kiger and Pro UTV class winner, Dustin Jones.

Unnamed 212

A true drivers class, the General Tire Trophylite Race Series was created to provide an affordable alternative to the high cost of racing. Drivers are pitted against each other in identical vehicles that provide the thrill of competitive off-road racing. Fifteen Trophylite trucks started the race but only eight finished. Despite having to change a drive shaft on his first lap, #6002 Todd Jackson won the Oakley Bomb award in Class 6000 Trophylite. Once back on course, Jackson laid down a blistering lap time of 02:20:50.772 on his second lap to earn a coveted award.

Unnamed 410

The thundering speed and capabilities of Class 1500 make it worthy of an Oakley Bomb Award. Thirty four of the top open wheeled drivers came fists up to the Mint 400 but only half survived the brutal fight. Eleventh overall finisher, #1537 Eduardo Laguna, was one of only a few racers to finish a lap of The Mint 400 in under two hours. “Lalo” did it in just 01:59:52.868 on his second lap, earning mad respect and the final Oakley Bomb award up for grabs at the 2015 Polaris RZR Mint 400 presented by General Tire.

About The Polaris RZR Mint 400, presented by General Tire
Known as “The Greatest Off-Road Race in America,” The Mint 400 is an epic four hundred mile battle between the top off-road racers in the world in over twenty different classes of off-road vehicles. The race was started in 1967, and is steeped in American lore, as thousands of racers, as well as celebrities from around the world, have attempted to tame the brutal Nevada desert. An entire week of events lead up the famed off-road race in and around Las Vegas, including a vehicle parade, drivers meet and greet, pit crew contest, crowning of Miss Mint, multiple parties, qualifying, and contingency / vehicle tech inspection.

About Mad Media
Mad Media ( is a San Diego based marketing and creative agency, with in-house film and television production. We craft authentic, culturally engaging brand messages, and deliver them across print, web, photography, and film platforms. Mad Media has been leading the online content revolution since 1995 producing major commercial, television, online content and viral film projects such as The Gymkhana Series and XP1K Series.

Continue reading...
Top Bottom