June Weekend to Feature Stadium SUPER Trucks, Verizon IndyCar Series, and Camping World Truck Series

Fort Worth, Texas (August 27, 2016)- Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage announced today the addition of the SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Presented by TRAXXAS to the speedway’s racing lineup in 2017.

The addition of Stadium SUPER Trucks will create a diverse tripleheader weekend in June as the racing series will be paired with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and Verizon IndyCar Series. The Stadium SUPER trucks feature event will take place in advance of the Firestone 600 on Saturday, June 10.


The widely popular SST Series features 12 identically prepared 650-horsepower trucks that are built to take flight much like their scaled down TRAXXAS radio-control-car counterparts. Able to race on virtually any surface, the SST trucks will race along the speedway’s pit road, frontstretch and portion of the infield. A detailed layout of the course will be announced at a later date.

Compared to the oval racing of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and Verizon IndyCar Series, the SST races will feature 36-inch tall aluminum ramps placed in strategic locations throughout the course, allowing the trucks to fly 20 feet off the ground and hundreds of feet down the course, all while hitting speeds upwards of 140 miles per hour.


The announcement was made by Gossage and former INDYCAR and NASCAR driver Robby Gordon, who created the series in 2013, at Texas Motor Speedway prior to Saturday night’s resumption of the Firestone 600 that was suspended from its June date due to weather-related issues.

“For Stadium SUPER Trucks to return back to the state of Texas, after competing at X Games Austin for two successful years, I cannot be more excited,” Stadium SUPER Trucks President Robby Gordon said. “When you think of Texas two things come to mind; trucks and things that are big. Stadium SUPER Trucks gives you both, with the excitement of competitive door-to-door racing with big air.”


Stadium SUPER Trucks feature an 11-event schedule in 2016 spanning five different countries, touring as co-events with INDYCAR and V8 Supercar in Australia and New Zealand.

With a wide variety of drivers from all forms of motorsports, competitors such as 2015 series champion Sheldon Creed, Arie Luyendyk Jr., Tyler McQuarrie, as well as Australian’s Matt Brabham and Paul Morris all have an equal opportunity at winning.

Visit http://www.texasmotorspeedway?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss in the coming weeks to purchase advanced tickets for the 2017 event.

2016 SPEED Energy Stadium Super Trucks Presented by TRAXXAS

Season Winners

Round No. Race Location Race Date Winner
1 Adelaide, SA, Australia March 4, 2016 Sheldon Creed
2 Adelaide, SA, Australia March 5, 2016 Burt Jenner
3 Adelaide, SA, Australia March 6, 2016 Sheldon Creed
4 St. Petersburg, Fla. March 12, 2016 Sheldon Creed
5 St. Petersburg, Fla. March 13, 2016 Keegan Kincaid
6 Long Beach, Calif. April 16, 2016 Sheldon Creed
7 Long Beach, Calif. April 17, 2016 Sheldon Creed
8 Detroit, Mich. June 4, 2016 Matt Brabham
9 Detroit, Mich. June 5, 2016 Matt Brabham
10 Townsville, QLD, Australia July 8, 2016 Sheldon Creed

11 Townsville, QLD, Australia July 9, 2016 Robby Gordon
12 Townsville, QLD, Australia July 10, 2016 E.J. Viso
13 Toronto, Ont. Canada July 16, 2016 Matt Brabham
14 Toronto, Ont. Canada July 17, 2016 Sheldon Creed
15 Charlotte, North Carolina August 19, 2016 Sheldon Creed
16 Charlotte, North Carolina August 20, 2016 Sheldon Creed

SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Presented by TRAXXAS

2016 World Championship Schedule

Round Date Location TV Broadcast Date Network​

1-3 March 3-6 Adelaide, SA, Australia March 26 9:00 PM ET CBSSN​

4-5 March 11-13 St. Petersburg, Florida April 17 12:00 PM ET CBSSN​

6-7 April 15-17 Long Beach, California April 30 2:00 PM ET CBSSN​

8-10 June 3-5 Detroit, Michigan June 19 3:00 PM ET CBSSN​

11-12 July 8-10 Townsville, QLD, Australia July 24 4:00 PM ET CBSSN​

13-14 July 15-17 Toronto, ONT, Canada July 31 3:00 PM ET CBSSN​

15-16 Aug. 19-20 Charlotte, North Carolina TBD​

17-18 Sept. 17-18 Costa Mesa, California October 9 6:00 PM ET CBSSN​

Exb. Oct. 13-16 Mike’s Peak Hill Climb Challenge; Baja California, Mexico​

19-20 Oct. 21-23 Gold Coast, QLD, Australia Nov. 6 2:00 PM ET CBSSN​

21-22 Nov. 4-6 Auckland, New Zealand Nov. 20 2:00 PM ET CBSSN​

23-25 Nov. 25-27 Sydney, NSW, Australia TBD​

About SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Presented by TRAXXAS

Influenced by the former Mickey Thompson Stadium Off-Road Racing Series, where drivers such as Gordon, Casey Mears and six-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson got their start, Gordon created SST in response to the public’s overwhelming interest in trucks and off-road racing. His plan to re-launch the former stadium series has led to exciting racing on both asphalt and dirt, while producing one of the most extreme forms of action sports today.​

Other than the trucks launching 20 feet in the air covering distances more than 150 feet, what sets the SST program apart from other series is the fact that all the SST trucks are identically prepared and delivered to drivers in race-ready condition. Race winners are decided by driver skill rather than individual team engineering and budgets. Drivers and their personal mechanics are assigned specific SST mechanics who together tune and make minor adjustments to the 600-horsepower trucks.

The post TEXAS MOTOR SPEEDWAY ADDS STADIUM SUPER TRUCKS TO 2017 RACE SCHEDULE appeared first on RockCrawler 4x4 and Offroad Magazine.

Related posts:

  1. Sheldon Creed Wins Stadium SUPER Trucks Race 2 at Gold Coast 600 in Australia
  2. Burt Jenner Wins Stadium SUPER Trucks Race 1 at Gold Coast 600 in Australia
  3. Stadium SUPER Trucks Return to Australia with Three Events at This Weekends Townsville 400

Continue reading...
Top Bottom